Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Kirkpatrick, Johnlocked

  • Paula Morgan

(b New York, March 18, 1905; d Ithaca, NY, Nov 8, 1991). American pianist and music scholar. After attending Princeton University he continued his musical studies with Nadia Boulanger at Fontainebleau during the summers from 1925 to 1928 and at the Ecole Normale de Musique in 1926 and 1927. From 1928 to 1931 he studied the piano with Louta Nouneberg. In 1942 he became chairman of the music department at Monticello College. He then taught at Mount Holyoke College from 1943 until 1946, when he was appointed to the music faculty of Cornell University; he served as chairman of the department there from 1949 to 1953 and as director of the chapel choir from 1953 to 1957. In 1968 he became curator of the Ives Collection at Yale University (Professor Emeritus from 1973).

Kirkpatrick gave first performances of many piano works by American composers, most notably Charles Ives's Concord Sonata in 1939. As a friend of the Ives family, Kirkpatrick was asked after the composer's death to catalogue his music manuscripts; this resulted in a temporary catalogue issued by Yale in 1960. He also edited Ives's memoranda, with additional notes and appendixes, and several of his compositions.


  • ‘Aaron Copland's Piano Sonata’, MM, 19 (1941–2), 246–50
  • A Temporary Mimeographed Catalogue of the Music Manuscripts and Related Materials of Charles Edward Ives (New Haven, CT, 1960)
  • ‘Performance as an Avenue to Educational Realities in Music’, College Music Symposium, 4 (1964), 39–46
  • Preface to C. Ives: Symphony no.4 (New York, 1965)
  • ‘The Evolution of Carl Ruggles: a Chronicle Largely in his Own Words’, PNM, 6/2 (1967–8), 146–66
  • ed. C. Ives: Memos (New York, 1972)
  • ‘Thoughts on the Ives Year’, Student Musicologists at Minnesota, 6 (1975–6), 218–23 [Ives centenary issue]


  • J. Kirkpatrick
  • C. Ives: Eleven Songs and Two Harmonizations (New York, 1968)
  • with G. Smith C. Ives: Psalm 90, for Mixed Chorus, Organ and Bells (Bryn Mawr, PA, 1970)
  • with G. Clarke C. Ives: Varied Air and Variations (Bryn Mawr, PA, 1971)
  • C. Ives: Johnny Poe, for Male Chorus and Orchestra (New York, 1978)
  • with J. Cox C. Ives: Waltz-Rondo for Piano (New York, 1978)
  • with G. Smith C. Ives: Psalm 25, for S.A.T.B., with Organ (Bryn Mawr, PA, 1979)
  • C. Ives: Study no.20 for Piano (Bryn Mawr, PA, 1981)
  • C. Ives: Trio for Violin, Violoncello, and Piano (New York, 1987)
  • C. Ives: String Quartet no.1 (New York, 1988)
  • C. Ives: Forty Earlier Songs (New York, 1993)
Modern Music
Perspectives of New Music