Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Kurtág, Györgylocked

  • Rachel Beckles Willson


(b Lugoj, Romania, Feb 19, 1926). Hungarian composer and pianist. He is the only composer to have lived through Hungary's communist regime (1949–89) and still to have achieved international recognition. Drawing on Bartók, Webern and, to a lesser extent, Stravinsky, his work is characterized by compression in scale and forces, and by a particular immediacy of expression....

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.

Basle, Paul Sacher Stiftung, Bibliothek
Contemporary Music Review
Musical Times
Die Musikforschung