Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

O Antiphons [Great Antiphons]locked

  • Richard Sherr


In present-day liturgy a set of seven antiphons to the Magnificat, each text beginning with the exclamation ‘O’: ‘O sapientia’, ‘O adonai’, ‘O radix Jesse’, ‘O clavis David’, ‘O oriens’, ‘O Rex gentium’, ‘O Emmanuel’. One of these is sung on each of the seven days preceding Christmas Eve (see ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.

Turin, Biblioteca Nazionale Universitaria, sezione Musicale
London, British Library
Musica disciplina