Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Verdelot [Deslouges], Philippelocked

  • H. Colin Slim
  •  and Stefano La Via


(b Verdelot, Les Loges, Seine-et-Marne, c1480–85; d ?Florence, ?1530–32, before 1552). French composer. He was the most important composer of Italian madrigals before Arcadelt, and one of the pioneers of the genre.

Practically nothing is known of Verdelot’s early career; it was presumably spent in northern France before he went to northern Italy at a fairly early stage. He may have been in Venice as early as the first decade of the 16th century. According to Vasari (...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.

A. Einstein: The Italian Madrigal (Princeton, NJ, 1949/R)
Journal of the American Musicological Society
Leuven, Katholieke Universiteit van Leuven
Modena, Biblioteca Estense e Universitaria
Revue belge de musicologie
Florence, Opera del Duomo (S Maria del Fiore), Biblioteca e Archivio
Munich, Bayerische Staatsbibliothek
Florence, Conservatorio Statale di Musica Luigi Cherubini
Chicago, Newberry Library
Padua, Duomo, Biblioteca Capitolare, Curia Vescovile
Early Music
Verona, Accademia Filarmonica, Biblioteca e Archivio
Sammelbände der Internationalen Musik-Gesellschaft
Brussels, Bibliothèque Royale Albert 1er/Koninlijke Bibliotheek Albert I, Section de la Musique
Rome, Biblioteca Vallicelliana
Early Music History
Acta musicologica
H.M. Brown: Instrumental Music Printed Before 1600: a Bibliography (Cambridge, MA, 1965)
Budapest, Magyar Tudományos Akadémia Könytára
Göttingen, Staatliches Archivlager
Rivista italiana di musicologia
Coimbra, Universidade de Coimbra, Biblioteca Geral, Impressos e Manuscritos Musicais
Bergamo, Biblioteca Civica Angelo Mai
Note d'archivio per la storia musicale
New Haven (CT), Yale University, Irving S. Gilmore Music Library
N. Pirrotta and E. Povoledo: Li due Orfei: da Poliziano a Monteverdi (Turin, 1969, enlarged 2/1975; Eng. trans., 1982, as Music and Theatre from Poliziano to Monteverdi)
Florence, Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale, Dipartimento Musica
Bologna, Civico Museo Bibliografico Musicale
Venice, Conservatorio di Musica Benedetto Marcello, Biblioteca
Revue de musicologie