Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Whole-tone scalelocked

  • H.K. Andrews


A scale that divides the octave into six equal-tempered whole tones: C–D–E–F♯–G♯–A♯(=B♭)–C or its sole transposition, D♭–E♭–F–G–A–B(=C♭)–D♭. Since all the intervals between adjacent degrees are the same, the scale is tonally unstable, that is, a centre can be formed only by emphasizing one of its notes to give it artificial prominence. Moreover, it lacks the fundamental harmonic and melodic relationships of major–minor tonality, namely those of the dominant (perfect 5th) and the leading note (minor 2nd)....

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.