Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Mode (from Lat. modus: ‘measure’, ‘standard’; ‘manner’, ‘way’)locked

  • Harold S. Powers,
  • Frans Wiering,
  • James Porter,
  • James Cowdery,
  • Richard Widdess,
  • Ruth Davis,
  • Marc Perlman,
  • Stephen Jones
  •  and Allan Marett


A term in Western music theory with three main applications, all connected with the above meanings of modus: the relationship between the note values longa and brevis in late medieval notation; interval, in early medieval theory; and, most significantly, a concept involving scale type and melody type. The term ‘mode’ has always been used to designate classes of melodies, and since the 20th century to designate certain kinds of norm or model for composition or improvisation as well. Certain phenomena in folksong and in non-Western music are related to this last meaning, and are discussed below in §§IV and V. The word is also used in acoustical parlance to denote a particular pattern of vibrations in which a system can oscillate in a stable way; ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.

Sammelbände der Internationalen Musik-Gesellschaft
Tijdschrift van de Vereniging voor Nederlandse muziekgeschiedenis [and earlier variants]
Early Music
Etudes grégoriennes
Kassel, Gesamthochschul-Bibliothek, Landesbibliothek und Murhardsche Bibliothek, Musiksammlung
W.H. Frere, ed.: Antiphonale sarisburiense (London, 1901-25/R)
Archiv für Musikwissenschaft
Corpus scriptorum de musica (Rome, later Stuttgart, 1950-)
Regensburg, Bischöfliche Zentralbibliothek, Proske-Musikbibliothek
Le choeur des muses
Music & Letters
Early Music History
Journal of Music Theory
Journal of the Royal Musical Association
Revue de musicologie
Yearbook of the International Folk Music Council
The New Oxford History of Music (Oxford, 1954-90)
International Musicological Society: Congress Report [1930-]
Rome, Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana
Journal of Musicological Research
A. Lavignac and L. de La Laurencie, eds.: Encyclopédie de la musique et dictionnaire du Conservatoire
Corpus mensurabilis musicae
Brussels, Bibliothèque Royale Albert 1er/Koninlijke Bibliotheek Albert I, Section de la Musique
Porto, Biblioteca Pública Municipal
Lugo, Biblioteca Comunale Fabrizio Trisi
Gesellschaft für Musikforschung: Kongress-Bericht [1950-]
Paris, Bibliothèque Nationale de France
Journal of the International Folk Music Council
Musical Quarterly
Studia musicologica Academiae scientiarum hungaricae
C.-E.-H. de Coussemaker: Scriptorum de musica medii aevi nova series (Paris, 1864-76/R, 2/1908, ed. U. Moser)
Acta musicologica
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart
Asian Music
Current Musicology
Karlsruhe, Badische Landesbibliothek
Vierteljahrsschrift für Musikwissenschaft
Leipzig, Karl-Marx-Universität, Universitätsbibliothek, Bibliotheca Albertina
Musica disciplina
Music Review
Handwörterbuch der musikalischen Terminologie
Journal of Musicology
Perspectives of New Music
Papers of the American Musicological Society
Journal of the American Musicological Society
Berkeley, University of California at Berkeley, Music Library
M. Gerbert: Scriptores ecclesiastici de musica sacra potissimum (St Blasien, 1784/R, 3/1931)
Die Musikforschung
Kirchenmusikalisches Jahrbuch