Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Isaac [Ysaak, Ysac, Yzac], Henricus [Heinrich; Arrigo d’Ugo; Arrigo Tedesco]locked

  • Reinhard Strohm
  •  and Emma Kempson


(b Flanders or Brabant, c1450–55; d Florence, March 26, 1517). South Netherlandish composer. The Latin name-form ‘Henricus’, adopted here, is found in many documents and musical sources. Isaac was a prominent member of a group of Franco-Flemish musicians, including Josquin des Prez, Jacob Obrecht, Pierre de La Rue, Alexander Agricola and others, who achieved international fame in the decades around ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.

Recent Researches in the Music of the Renaissance
Segovia, Catedral, Archivo Capitular
Musical Quarterly
Allgemeine deutsche Biographie (Leipzig, 1875-1912)
W. Senn: Musik und Theater am Hof zu Innsbruck (Innsbruck, 1954)
Monatshefte für Musikgeschichte
Studia musicologica Academiae scientiarum hungaricae
Current Musicology
Zeitschrift für Musikwissenschaft
Journal of the American Musicological Society
Gesellschaft für Musikforschung: Kongress-Bericht [1950-]
Tijdschrift van de Vereniging voor Nederlandse muziekgeschiedenis [and earlier variants]
Dresden, Sächsische Landesbibliothek - Staats- und Universitäts-Bibliothek, Musikabteilung
Leipzig, Karl-Marx-Universität, Universitätsbibliothek, Bibliotheca Albertina
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Journal of Musicology
Kirchenmusikalisches Jahrbuch
Monuments of Renaissance Music
Acta musicologica
Rassegna musicale
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart
Munich, Bayerische Staatsbibliothek
Papers of the American Musicological Society
Nuova rivista musicale italiana
Analecta musicologica
Collectanea historiae musicae (1953-66)
Archiv für Musikwissenschaft
Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin - Preußischer Kulturbesitz, Musikabteilung
Brussels, Bibliothèque Royale Albert 1er/Koninlijke Bibliotheek Albert I, Section de la Musique
Bloomington (IN), Indiana University, Lilly Library
Denkmäler der Tonkunst in Bayern
Florence, Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale, Dipartimento Musica
Archiv für Musikforschung
Studien zur Musikwissenschaft
Die Musikforschung
R. Strohm: The Rise of European Music (Cambridge, 1993)
Revue belge de musicologie
Trent, Castello del Buonconsiglio: Monumenti e Collezioni Provinciali, Biblioteca
Music & Letters
E. Vander Straeten: La musique aux Pays-Bas avantle XIXe siècle
N. Pirrotta and E. Povoledo: Li due Orfei: da Poliziano a Monteverdi (Turin, 1969, enlarged 2/1975; Eng. trans., 1982, as Music and Theatre from Poliziano to Monteverdi)
Rome, Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana