Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Ionian Islandslocked

  • Kostas Kardamis


Group of seven islands in the west coast of Greece comprising Corfu (Kerkyra), Paxos, Lefkada, Cephalonia (Kefalonia), Ithaca (Ithaki), Zante (Zakynthos), and Kythira. From the 12th century the islands came gradually under Frankish rule, but their social and cultural formulation was a result of the Venetian administration, which did not begin at the same time for all the islands. After the abolishment of the Venetian Republic (...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.