Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Samaltanos, Nikolaoslocked

  • Danae Stefanou


(b Athens, May 29, 1963). Greek pianist. A leading interpreter of the music of Nikos Skalkottas, he has made numerous recordings of Skalkottas’s piano and chamber works (e.g. Le retour d’ Ulysse for two pianos, with Christophe Sirodeau), as well as showcasing the music of lesser-known and contemporary composers, most notably the complete piano sonatas of Russian composer Samuil Feinberg, and compositions by the Finnish conductor and composer Leif Segerstam. Samaltanos studied with Ivi Deligianni, and later with Aliki Vatikioti at the Athens Conservatory. Upon graduation, he was awarded a Leventis foundation scholarship for studies abroad. He moved to France in ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.