Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).


  • Hugh Davies


Five-octave electric piano designed by Richard Bierl and the German musician and engineer Ernst Zacharias (b 21 June 1924), and manufactured by Hohner in Trossingen between 1962 and 1978. The sounds are produced by tuned reeds, which are ‘plucked’ by adhesive pads and amplified by means of electromagnetic (originally electrostatic) pickups; a similar sound-generating system is used in Hohner’s (electrostatic) Cembalet and (electromagnetic) Guitaret. The timbre is more rounded than that of most electric pianos, owing to the less abrupt attack resulting from the manner in which the reeds are plucked. The Hohner Duo (...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.