Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District [Ledi Makbet Mtsenskogo uyezda]locked

  • Laurel Fay


Opera in four acts, op.29, by dmitry Shostakovich to a libretto by the composer and Alexander Preys, after the short story by Nikolay Leskov; Leningrad, Malïy Opernïy Teatr, 22 January 1934 (revised as Katerina izmaylova ; Moscow, Stanislavsky–Nemirovich-Danchenko Music Theatre, 8 January 1963).

Shostakovich began the composition of his second opera in autumn ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.