Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).


  • Elizabeth Forbes


Opera in four acts and an epilogue by César Franck to a libretto by Charles Grandmougin after a play by Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson; Monte Carlo, 4 March 1894.

The action takes place in 11th-century Norway. Hulda (mezzo-soprano), whose father and brothers have been slaughtered by Aslak (bass) and some of his sons during a tribal feud, swears vengeance. Gudleik (baritone), her own captor and bridegroom, is killed by Eioff (tenor), the King of Norway’s representative. Hulda incites three of Aslak’s other sons to kill Eioff, who after paying court to Hulda has returned to Swanhilda (soprano), his first love. Having accomplished her revenge, she kills herself by jumping into the fjord....

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.