Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Khovanshchina (‘The Khovansky Affair’)locked

  • Richard Taruskin


‘National music drama’ (narodnaya muzïkal’naya drama) in six scenes, traditionally given in five acts, by modest petrovich Musorgsky to his own libretto, compiled with vladimir vasil’yevich Stasov from historical sources; St Petersburg, Amateur Musical-Dramatic Club in Kononov Auditorium, 9/21 February 1886, in Rimsky-Korsakov’s version (given by Imperial Theatres, St Petersburg, Mariinsky Theatre, 7/...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.