Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Orfeo(i) [L’Orfeo](‘Orpheus’)locked

  • John Whenham


Favola in musica in a prologue and five acts by Claudio Monteverdi to a libretto by Alessandro Striggio based mainly on the Orpheus myth as told in Ovid’s Metamorphoses, though drawing also on the account in Virgil’s Georgics; Mantua, ducal palace, 24 February 1607...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.