Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Brenno (‘Brennus’)locked

  • Thomas Bauman


Opera seria (‘Dramma con cori e balli analoghi’) in three acts by Johann Friedrich Reichardt to a libretto by Antonio de’ Filistri da Caramondani; Berlin, Königliches Theater, 16 October 1789.

Under the leadership of Egisto (soprano), the Gauls successfully storm the walls of Rome. The Roman noblewoman Ostilia (soprano) is brought before Brennus (bass), King of the Gauls, who immediately falls in love with her. She, however, loves the Roman consul Fabio (castrato). They determine to flee. To their surprise, they are offered the aid of Egisto, who is actually the Teutonic maid Zelinda in disguise, formerly the beloved of Brennus. Twice the lovers attempt escape, and twice they are intercepted. To win Ostilia, Brennus threatens to put Fabio to death and simultaneously initiates a bloody sack of Rome. But then Egisto discloses her true identity to him, reproves him for his infidelity and reminds him of the promise of the gods that he will found a new nation in the North. Brennus takes stock, calls an end to the hostilities, returns Ostilia to Fabio, and, reunited with Zelinda, turns his steps northward....

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.