Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Electrification of the Soviet Union, Thelocked

  • Gerald Larner


Opera in two acts by Nigel Osborne to a libretto by Craig Raine after Boris Pasternak’s novel The Last Summer and his poem Spectorsky; Glyndebourne, 5 October 1987.

Based on two autobiographical works by Pasternak, the opera is about a young poet, Serezha Spectorsky (high baritone), his love for two women – a governess, Anna Arild (soprano), and a prostitute, Sashka (soprano) – his efforts to come to terms as an artist with war and revolution, and his ultimately exclusive concern for his own genius. The opera shuttles backwards and forwards in time between ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.