Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Midsummer Night’s Dream, Alocked

  • Arnold Whittall


Opera in three acts, op.64, by Benjamin Britten to a libretto by him and Peter Pears, after William Shakespeare’s play; Aldeburgh, Jubilee Hall, 11 June 1960.

Britten’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream was something of a rush job, conceived and created between August 1959 and ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.