Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).


  • Hugh Macdonald


Opéra in five acts and seven tableaux by Camille Saint-Saëns to a libretto by Louis Gallet after Paul Meurice’s play Benvenuto Cellini; Paris, Opéra, 21 March 1890.

Composed in 1887–8, Ascanio makes a grand opera of a play of intrigue set in Paris in 1539...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.