Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Cherevichki (‘The Slippers’; ‘The Empress’s Slippers’; ‘The Golden Slippers’; ‘The Little Slippers’; ‘The Little Shoes’; ‘Les caprices d’Oxane’)locked

  • Richard Taruskin


Comic-fantastic opera in four acts by Pyotr Il’yich Tchaikovsky (1885; a revision of Vakula the Smith, 1876) to a libretto by Yakov Polonsky, amplified by Nikolay Chayev and the composer after Nikolay Vasil’yevich Gogol story Noch’ pered rozhdestvom (‘Christmas Eve’); Moscow, Bol’shoy Theatre, 19/...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.