Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).


  • David Murray


Konversationsstück für Musik in one act by Richard Strauss to a libretto by the composer and Clemens Krauss; Munich, Staatsoper, 28 October 1942.

The conception of Capriccio, Strauss’s 15th and last opera, arose from Stefan Zweig’s research in the British Museum, where in 1934 he came upon a short comedy by ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.