Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Demon, The [Demon]locked

  • Richard Taruskin


Opera in a prologue, three acts and apotheosis by Anton Grigor’yevich Rubinstein Rubinshteyn to a libretto by Pavel Alexandrovich Viskovatov (based on a scenario worked out by the composer with Apollon Nikolayevich Maykov and modified) after the poem (‘oriental tale’) by Mikhail Yur’yevich Lermontov (...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.