Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Déjanire (‘Dejanira’)locked

  • Hugh Macdonald


Tragédie lyrique in four acts by Camille Saint-Saëns to a libretto by Louis Gallet and the composer after Sophocles ’ Trachiniae; Monte Carlo, 14 March 1911.

In 1898 Saint-Saëns had already treated the subject of Hercules in two symphonic poems when he composed incidental music for Gallet’s tragedy ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.