Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).


  • Gordana Lazarevich


Commedia musicale in three acts by Giovanni Battista Pergolesi to a libretto by Gennaro Antonio Federico ; Naples, Teatro Nuovo, autumn 1735.

The wealthy Neapolitan Polidoro (tenor) and his sister, Agata (soprano), are staying at a villa near Naples inhabited by a young widow, Giustina (mezzo-soprano), and three other people: Polidoro’s secretary Flaminio (soprano), Giustina’s nanny Checca (soprano) and Polidoro’s servant Vastiano (bass). Flaminio, who has fallen in love with Giustina, is known to everyone as Giulio. Giustina, who reciprocates, is struck by his resemblance to Flaminio, a former suitor whom she rejected before marrying her first husband. Agata, whose betrothed, Ferdinando (tenor), has just arrived at the villa, has fallen in love with Giulio/Flaminio. To further complicate matters, Polidoro wants to marry Giustina. The burgeoning love of Flaminio and Giustina is at the core of this comic opera, which is interlaced with the clowning of Polidoro and the flirting between Checca and Vastiano. In the end Flaminio, assured of Giustina’s love, reveals his true identity, Agata goes back to Ferdinando, whom she had unceremoniously rejected, and Checca agrees to marry Vastiano....

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.