Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Lyod i stal’ (‘Ice and Steel’)locked

  • Laurel Fay


Opera in four acts by Vladimir Mikhaylovich Deshevov to a libretto by B. A. Lavrenyov; Leningrad, Academic Theatre of Opera and Ballet, 17 May 1930.

The action takes place at the time of the Kronstadt rebellion in 1921. Counter-revolutionary agents spread anti-Soviet propaganda and succeed in tempting some workers; news of the Kronstadt rebellion, however, banishes any doubts and unites the proletariat. Brigades of workers are created which go to the defence of Soviet power. The opera ends with the assault on the fortress at Kronstadt and its capture by Red Guards....

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.