Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).


  • Roger Parker


Opera in four acts by giuseppe Verdi to a libretto by francesco maria Piave (with additional material by Andrea Maffei) after william Shakespeare’s play; Florence, Teatro della Pergola, 14 March 1847 (revised version, with libretto translated by charles-louis-etienne Nuitter and Alexandre Beaumont, Paris, Théâtre Lyrique, ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.