Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Octavia [ Die römische Unruhe, oder Die edelmühtige Octavia (‘The Roman Unrest, or The Noble-Spirited Octavia’)]locked

  • John H. Roberts


Sing-Spiel in three acts by Reinhard Keiser to a libretto by Barthold Feind ; Hamburg, Theater am Gänsemarkt, 5 August 1705.

Tiridates, King of Armenia (contralto), has been brought to Rome a captive, together with his beautiful wife Ormoena (soprano). Emperor Nero (bass) falls in love with Ormoena and decides to do away with his wife, Octavia (soprano). Ordered to take her own life with a dagger or poison, Octavia is prevented from stabbing herself only by the intervention of the devoted Piso (tenor). Piso then leads a revolution against Nero, causing him to flee the city. At the suggestion of the philosopher Seneca (bass), Octavia appears to Nero posing as her own ghost, and he is stricken with remorse. Rescued by his supporters, who have defeated the rebels, the emperor is overjoyed to learn that Octavia is still alive and pardons Piso because he saved her. Ormoena happily returns to Tiridates, whose crown had previously been restored by Nero....

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.