Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).


  • Roger Nichols


Opera in three scenes, op.50, by Lennox Berkeley to a libretto by Eric Crozier; London, Scala Theatre, 2 October 1956.

The libretto follows the biblical story and the language of the Authorized Version fairly closely. It begins after Naomi (soprano) has returned from Moab to Bethlehem with her daughters-in-law Orpah (soprano) and Ruth (mezzo-soprano). She persuades Orpah to go back to Moab, but Ruth insists on staying with her (‘Whither thou goest, I will go’). A chorus of local women comment on how Naomi has aged....

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.