Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Music Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Music Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Rake’s Progress, Thelocked

  • Richard Taruskin


Opera in three acts (nine scenes and an epilogue) by Igor Stravinsky to a libretto by W(ystan) H(ugh) Auden and Chester Kallman after William Hogarth’s series of paintings (1732–3); Venice, Teatro La Fenice, 11 September 1951.

Stravinsky happened on Hogarth’s paintings at the Chicago Art Institute on ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.