Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 28 February 2020

Agrell, Johan Joachimlocked

  • Ingmar Bengtsson
  • , revised by Bertil H. van Boer


(b Löth, Östergötland, Feb 1, 1701; d Nuremberg, Jan 19, 1765). Swedish composer, violinist and harpsichordist. His father was a priest. He went to school in Linköping and studied at Uppsala University from 1721 to 1722 or 1723, where he played in the university orchestra, then led by the director musices Eric Burman. Early biographers said that Prince Maximilian of Hesse heard Agrell's violin playing in 1723 and called him to Kassel. Firm evidence of Agrell's activity there is, however, found only from 1734, when F. Chelleri was Kapellmeister. He was still working in Kassel between 1737 and 1742 during the reign of Count Wilhelm VIII and the court long owed him payment for service, as well as ‘ale and food money’, for the years 1743 to 1746. During his time at Kassel Agrell is reported to have made several journeys, visiting England, France, Italy and elsewhere.

Uncertain economic circumstances seem to have driven Agrell to seek the post of Kapellmeister in Nuremberg, a post which he obtained in ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.

Uppsala, Universitetsbiblioteket
Rudolstadt, Thüringisches Staatsarchiv
Munich, Bayerische Staatsbibliothek
Dresden, Sächsische Staatsoper, Notenbibliothek [in D-Dl]
Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin - Preußischer Kulturbesitz, Musikabteilung
London, British Library
Berkeley, University of California at Berkeley, Music Library
Burgsteinfurt, Fürst zu Bentheimsche Musikaliensammlung [on loan to D-MÜu]
Münster, Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität, Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek, Musiksammlung
Paris, Bibliothèque Nationale de France
Muzïkal 'nïy sovremennik
J. Mattheson: Grundlage einer Ehren-Pforte (Hamburg, 1740); ed. Max Schneider (Berlin, 1910/R)
Nuremberg, Bibliothek Egidienplatz
Brussels, Conservatoire Royal, Bibliothèque, Koninklijk Conservatorium, Bibliotheek
Washington, DC, Library of Congress, Music Division
Paris, Conservatoire [in F-Pn]
Lund, Universitet, Universitetsbiblioteket, Handskriftsavdelningen
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart
B.S. Brook, ed.: The Breitkopf Thematic Catalogue, 1762-1787 (New York, 1966)
F.-J. Fétis: Biographie universelle des musiciens
Stockholm, Kungliga Biblioteket: Sveriges Nationalbibliotek
Regensburg, Fürst Thurn und Taxis Hofbibliothek
Svensk tidskrift för musikforskning