Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 20 October 2019

Antonelli, Giulio Cesare locked

  • Iain Fenlon


(fl Mantua, 1606–49). Italian composer. He was a canon. His known works survive in two manuscripts (in I-Mc , Fondo S Barbara), the first containing 12 madrigals dated from Luzzara, near Mantua, in 1606, the second a setting in six sections of Rinuccini's Lamento d'Arianna which is ascribed to him on the cover in a contemporary hand. The title-page of the 1606 manuscript describes him as maestro di cappella of S Andrea, Mantua, and a copy of his will dated 22 March 1649 and kept with the manuscript implies that he was still at S Andrea at this date. The madrigals are all settings of Guarini, more specifically texts that had already been set by Monteverdi, then also working at Mantua, most of them in his fifth book of madrigals (1605). Reliance on Monteverdi's example is also evident in the Lamento, which thus places Antonelli even more firmly among those composers working at Mantua during the first decade of the 17th century – for example Amante Franzoni – who were heavily indebted to Monteverdi for textual, formal and sometimes stylistic models. At the same time the ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.

Milan, Conservatorio di Musica Giuseppe Verdi, Biblioteca
Rivista italiana di musicologia