Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 17 August 2019

Birchensha, [Berchenshaw, Berkenshaw, Birkenshaw], Johnlocked

  • Christopher D.S. Field


(b early 17th century; d London, bur. May 14, 1681). English theorist, composer and teacher. He seems to have been a younger son of Sir Ralph Birchensha, who in 1598 was sent to Ireland as Comptroller of the Musters and Cheques. According to Anthony Wood (GB-Ob Wood D 19 [4], f.19) he resided in Ireland with the Earl of Kildare until the rebellion of 1641 forced him to quit Dublin for London. In A Musicall Banquet (1651) he is listed among teachers of the viol active in London; but it was as a teacher of the rudiments of composition that he made his name. He boasted that by means of his rules ‘not only those, who skillfully can sing or play on some Instrument, may learn to compose but also those, who can neither sing nor play’ (letter to the Royal Society, 26 April 1664...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.

Oxford, Bodleian Library
Journal of the Royal Musical Association
London, Royal College of Music, Library
London, British Library
F.-J. Fétis: Biographie universelle des musiciens
Oxford, Christ Church Library
York, Minster Library
Brussels, Bibliothèque Royale Albert 1er/Koninlijke Bibliotheek Albert I, Section de la Musique
New York, Public Library at Lincoln Center, Music Division
Cambridge, Magdalene College, Pepys Library
Lichfield, Cathedral Library
Hamburg, Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Carl von Ossietzky, Musiksammlung
R.M.A. [Royal Musical Association] Research Chronicle