Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 20 August 2019

Capdeville, Constançalocked

  • Gabriela Cruz


(b Barcelona, March 16, 1937; d Lisbon, Feb 5, 1992). Portuguese composer and performer. She studied the piano, composition and early music at the Lisbon Conservatory, winning the composition prize in 1962 with the organ work Variações sobre o nome de Stravinsky. She later taught composition in the department of Ciências Musicais at the Universidade Nova de Lisboa, and at the Escola Superior de Música in Lisbon. She was a pianist and percussionist, and participated in ‘scenic music’ performances. Her compositions have been presented at major European festivals, including Royan, Warsaw, Zagreb and Lisbon, and she was a founding member of Colecviva, which introduced music theatre into Portugal.

Her early works already reflected a strong attraction to novel techniques and alternative languages, for example in the Sonata concertante (1963) and Diferenças sobre um intervalo (1967), her first serial composition. But it was in the mid-1960s, when she came into contact with the music of Stockhausen, Stravinsky, Globokar and others, that Capdeville’s work became particularly experimental, laying emphasis on timbre research as in ...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.