Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 17 September 2019

Goldschmidt, Bertholdlocked

  • Michael Struck


(b Hamburg, Jan 18, 1903; d London, Oct 17, 1996). British conductor and composer of German origin. After attending school in Hamburg, he studied philosophy and art history at the University of Hamburg and the Friedrich Wilhelm University in Berlin (1922–4) as well as composition with Franz Schreker and conducting with Rudolf Krasselt and Julius Prüwer at the Berlin State Academy of Music (1922–5). After a short time spent in Dessau as a répétiteur (1924–5), he served as Erich Kleiber’s assistant during the rehearsals and première of Berg’s Wozzeck in 1925. Also in 1925 he won the Mendelssohn State Prize with his Passacaglia op.4 for orchestra. The premières in 1926 of the Passacaglia (in Berlin under Kleiber) the subsequently lost Overture op.3 (at the Tonkünstler festival in Chemnitz), and the First String Quartet op.8 (in Berlin), brought the young composer and conductor to more general notice. Over the next few years, Germany and other European countries heard further performances of his music, such as the Piano Sonata op.10, a radical piece in its linear motoric style, given at the ISCM Festival in Geneva in ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.