Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 24 August 2019

Haas, Pavellocked

  • Lubomír Peduzzi


(b Brno, June 21, 1899; d Auschwitz [now Oświęcim], probably Oct 18, 1944). Czech composer. He studied composition at the Brno Conservatory in Janáček's masterclass (1920–22). He worked first in his father's business, then from 1935 as a private teacher of music theory, and finally taught music at the Jewish secondary in Brno. Haas took the style of Janáček as his starting point, and came closer to Janáček's compositional method than any of his other pupils. However, he developed this in his own way and soon achieved a mature individuality in the Wind Quintet op.10, the Piano Suite op.13 and the opera Šarlatán (‘The Charlatan’). During the German Occupation he suffered persecution on account of his Jewish origin, performances of his compositions were banned, and neither he nor his wife were allowed to work. He was imprisoned in Terezín concentration camp (1941–4), where he continued to compose, including two of his best-known works, the Study for Strings (...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.

Hudební rozhledy
Ceskoslovensky hudební slovník