Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 26 January 2020

Hurlebusch, Conrad Friedrichlocked

  • Arend Koole


(bap. Brunswick, Dec 30, 1691; d Amsterdam, Dec 17, 1765). German composer, harpsichordist and theorist. He had his first musical education from his father, Heinrich Lorentz Hurlebusch, who was a scholar and an accomplished harpsichordist and organist; through him he became acquainted with the music of Buxtehude, Reincken and the French harpsichordists. In 1715, he left Brunswick and went to Hamburg and Vienna, where he spent two years; from 1718 he travelled in Italy as a harpsichord virtuoso, visiting Massa and Venice among other places. Early in 1721 he returned to Germany and spent several weeks at the court of the Elector of Bavaria, but declined a position at that court for religious reasons. In August 1721 he returned to Brunswick, where he composed his first Italian opera, L’innocenza difesa; there too he refused an offer, repeated in 1722, of a post as court musician in the service of the Duke of Brunswick. At the end of the year he accepted the King of Sweden’s invitation to become Kapellmeister at his court, but he had resigned by Easter ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.

Stockholm, Kungliga Biblioteket: Sveriges Nationalbibliotek
Wolfenbüttel, Herzog August Bibliothek, Handschriftensammlung
Stuttgart, Württembergische Landesbibliothek
Dresden, Sächsische Landesbibliothek - Staats- und Universitäts-Bibliothek, Musikabteilung
Uppsala, Universitetsbiblioteket
Schwerin, Landesbibliothek Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Musiksammlung
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart
Delden, Huisarchief Twickel
Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin - Preußischer Kulturbesitz, Musikabteilung
Dresden, Sächsische Staatsoper, Notenbibliothek [in D-Dl]
J. Mattheson: Grundlage einer Ehren-Pforte (Hamburg, 1740); ed. Max Schneider (Berlin, 1910/R)