Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 08 August 2020

Kozeluch [Kotzeluch, Koželuh], Leopold [Jan Antonín, Ioannes Antonius]locked

  • Milan Poštolka


[Jan Antonín, Ioannes Antonius]

(b Velvary, June 26, 1747; d Vienna, May 7, 1818). Bohemian composer, pianist, music teacher and publisher. He was baptized Jan Antonín, but began (not later than 1773) to use the name Leopold to differentiate himself from his older cousin of that name. He received his basic music education in Velvary and then studied music in Prague with his cousin, who probably gave him a thorough grounding in counterpoint and vocal writing, and with F.X. Dušek, whose piano and composition school prepared him mainly for writing symphonies and piano sonatas. After the success of his first ballets and pantomimes (performed in Prague, 1771–8), Kozeluch abandoned his law studies for a career as a musician. In 1778 he went to Vienna, where he quickly made a reputation as an excellent pianist, teacher and composer. By 1781 he was so well established there that he could refuse an offer to succeed Mozart as court organist to the Archbishop of Salzburg. By ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.

Rio de Janeiro, Fundação Biblioteca Nacional, Divisão de Música e Arquivo Sonoro
Brussels, Conservatoire Royal, Bibliothèque, Koninklijk Conservatorium, Bibliotheek
Wolfenbüttel, Herzog August Bibliothek, Handschriftensammlung
Prague, Konservatoř, Archiv a Knihovna
Prague, Národní Knihovna, Hudenbí Oddělení
Jindřichův Hradec, Státní Oblastní Archív Třeboňi
St Petersburg, Rossiyskaya Natsional′naya Biblioteka
Nuova rivista musicale italiana
Vienna, Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde
Kroměříž, Arcibiskupský zámek, hudební sbírka
Vienna, Österreichische Nationalbibliothek, Musiksammlung
G.J. Dlabacž: Allgemeines historisches Künstler-Lexikon
Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin - Preußischer Kulturbesitz, Musikabteilung
Archiv für Musikwissenschaft
Donaueschingen, Fürstlich Fürstenbergische Hofbibliothek
Parma, Biblioteca Palatina, sezione Musicale
Prague, Národní Muzeum
Miscellanea musicologica [Czechoslovakia]
Music & Letters
Florence, Conservatorio Statale di Musica Luigi Cherubini
Studien zur Musikwissenschaft