Show Summary Details

Page of
<p>Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use&#160;(for details see Privacy Policy).</p><p>date: 18 June 2019</p>

Kurtág, Györgylocked

  • Rachel Beckles Willson


(b Lugoj, Romania, Feb 19, 1926). Hungarian composer and pianist. He is the only composer to have lived through Hungary's communist regime (1949–89) and still to have achieved international recognition. Drawing on Bartók, Webern and, to a lesser extent, Stravinsky, his work is characterized by compression in scale and forces, and by a particular immediacy of expression....

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.

Die Musikforschung
Contemporary Music Review
Musical Times
Basle, Paul Sacher Stiftung, Bibliothek
Komponisten der Gegenwart, ed. H.-W. Heister and W.-W. Sparrer