Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 18 November 2019

Marescalchi, Luigilocked

  • Richard Macnutt


(b Bologna, Feb 1, 1745; d Marseilles, 1812). Italian music publisher and composer. About 1770 he began publishing in Venice and, probably in mid-1773, took the violinist and composer Carlo Canobbio (1741–1822) into partnership. Although the enterprise was temporarily abandoned about 1775, the brief period of its duration marked the revival of music publishing in Italy after 70 years of almost total inactivity. In Venice Marescalchi issued some 70 engraved publications, most in oblong format, evenly distributed between vocal pieces (mainly full scores and orchestral parts of single numbers from operas performed in Venice) and instrumental works (ballet, dance, chamber music and opera overtures). Anfossi, Boccherini, Naumann, Paisiello and Marescalchi himself were the composers of more than half of this output. In his Venice publications Marescalchi worked closely with Alessandri & Scattaglia, who were probably responsible for all his music engraving as well as being named on most of the title-pages as his selling agents, at their premises on the Rialto; one title-page also describes them as his printers, and this may have been another of their regular responsibilities. This connection between the two firms has often led cataloguers and bibliographers to ascribe to Alessandri & Scattaglia publications which should properly be regarded as Marescalchi’s, with the result that numerous entries in RISM, the ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.

F.-J. Fétis: Biographie universelle des musiciens
Rivista musicale italiana
Madrid, Patrimonio Nacional
C. Sartori: I libretti italiani a stampa dalle origini al 1800 (Cuneo, 1990-94)
Paris, Conservatoire [in F-Pn]
Dresden, Sächsisches Hauptstaatsarchiv
C. Sartori: Dizionario degli editori musicali italiani
London, British Library
Milan, Conservatorio di Musica Giuseppe Verdi, Biblioteca
Genoa, Conservatorio di Musica Nicolò Paganini, Biblioteca
Naples, Conservatorio di Musica S Pietro a Majella, Biblioteca