Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 22 August 2019

Schmidt, Olelocked

  • Jens Cornelius


(b Copenhagen, July 14, 1928; d Mar 6, 2010). Danish conductor and composer. He made a living as a jazz pianist before studying the piano and composition at the Royal Danish Conservatory in Copenhagen (beginning in 1948), where his teachers included Niels Viggo Bentzon, Høffding, Jersild and Holmboe. He studied conducting with Albert Wolff, Grevillius, Rafael Kubelík and Celibidache. A conductor at the Royal Danish Ballet in Copenhagen (1958–65), from 1969 to 1970 he was principal conductor of the Hamburg SO. He was then conductor of the Danish Radio Concert Orchestra (1971–3), and principal conductor of the Århus SO (1978–85). From 1986 to 1996 he was permanent guest conductor at the RNCM, Manchester, and from 1990 to 1995 principal guest conductor for the Toledo SO, Ohio. Schmidt was the first conductor to record a complete cycle of the symphonies of Carl Nielsen (...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.