Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 20 August 2019

Shlonsky, Verdinalocked

  • Michal Ben-Zur


(b Kremenchug, Jan 22, 1905; d Tel-Aviv, Feb 20, 1990). Israeli composer and pianist of Ukrainian birth. While a student at the Berlin Hochschule für Musik, she studied the piano with Egon Petri and Artur Schnabel. She first travelled to Palestine in 1929, but decided to settle in Paris where she made contact with Arthur Honegger and Darius Milhaud, and studied composition with Nadia Boulanger, Edgard Varèse and Max Deutsch (1930–32). Her First Symphony (1935), originally scored for piano, was orchestrated in 1937 while she was participating in a course given by Enescu. After the German invasion of France, Shlonsky escaped to London, where she wrote her Piano Concerto in Two Movements (1942–4). She emigrated to Palestine in 1945. Considered an avant-garde composer, she found it difficult initially to have her works performed. As well as teaching the piano at Tel-Aviv University, she served as a music critic for several Israeli newspapers....

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.