Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 22 August 2019

Spinner, Leopoldlocked

  • Michael Graubart


(b Lemberg [now L′viv], April 26, 1906; d London, Aug 12, 1980). British composer of Austrian birth. Spinner’s emigration passport includes the middle name ‘Israel’. The name was never properly his; it was inserted under duress, as a result of a 1938 Nazi law requiring all Jews to include the names ‘Israel’ or ‘Sarah’ in their documentation. Unfortunately, the name has been wrongly included in some subsequent literature on Spinner, including New Grove Dictionary, second edition. He studied theory and composition privately with Pisk (1926–30) and later (1935–8) with Webern. A number of his compositions from the 1930s, including the Symphony for Small Orchestra (awarded the Emil Hertzga Prize in 1933) and the Passacaglia for 11 Instruments (awarded the Henri Le Boeuf Prize in 1936), were performed at ISCM festivals and elsewhere, but Spinner included only one of them, the Violin Sonata op.1 (...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.

Washington, DC, Library of Congress, Music Division
Österreichische Musikzeitschrift
Los Angeles, The Arnold Schoenberg Institute Archives
Vienna, Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde
Cambridge (MA), Harvard University, Houghton Library
Syracuse (NY), Louis Krasner, private collection [in US-CAh and US-SY]
Vienna, Österreichische Nationalbibliothek, Musiksammlung