Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 19 September 2019

Weissensee, Friedrichlocked

  • Dieter Härtwig


(b Schwerstedt, Thuringia, c1560; d Altenweddingen, nr Magdeburg, 1622). German composer, schoolmaster and clergyman. From 1590 he was Rektor of the grammar school at Gebesee, near Erfurt. In about 1596 he succeeded Leonhard Schroeter (who retired in 1595) as Kantor of the notable grammar school at Magdeburg, an important appointment in which two of his recent predecessors had been Martin Agricola and Gallus Dressler. One of his most noteworthy pupils there was Daniel Friderici. In 1602 he became a clergyman at Altenweddingen. He ranks beside such men as Christoph Demantius, Michael Praetorius and Melchior Vulpius as one of the leading German composers of Protestant church music of his day. His principal publication is the Opus melicum (1602), which contains 72 Latin and German motets for four to 12 voices with instruments (one of the Latin motets is by Marenzio). These works show that he was one of the best German exponents of the massive Venetian choral style of Willaert and the Gabrielis. His volumes of ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.

Dresden, Sächsische Landesbibliothek - Staats- und Universitäts-Bibliothek, Musikabteilung
Berlin, Hochschule der Künste, Hochschulbibliothek, Abteilung Musik und Darstellende Kunst
R. Eitner: Biographisch-bibliographisches Quellen-Lexikon
Leipzig, Leipziger Städtische Bibliotheken, Musikbibliothek
Zwickau, Ratsschulbibliothek, Wissenschaftliche Bibliothek
E.L. Gerber: Neues historisch-biographisches Lexikon der Tonkünstler
Wrocław, Uniwersytet Wrocławski, Biblioteka Uniwersytecka
F.-J. Fétis: Biographie universelle des musiciens
F. Blume: Die evangelische Kirchenmusik (Potsdam, 1931-4/R, enlarged 2/1965 as Geschichte der evangelischen Kirchenmusik; Eng. trans., enlarged, 1974, as Protestant Church Music: a History)