Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 18 August 2019

Wihan, Hanuš locked

  • Miroslav K. Černý


(b Police u Broumova, north-east Bohemia, June 5, 1855; d Prague, May 1, 1920). Czech cellist and teacher . At the Prague Conservatory he was a pupil of František Hegenbarth whom he succeeded in 1888 as professor of cello and chamber music. Previously, Wihan had been a member of orchestras in Nice, Prague, Berlin, Sondershausen and Munich, and he finished his training under Karl Davïdov, whose methods formed the basis of his own teaching. Having taught the players of the Czech Quartet, which he founded, he took the place of his dying pupil Otto Berger in it, and remained a member of the quartet for 20 years, throughout its most glorious period. Having retired in 1914, he returned to the conservatory in 1919. During his career as soloist over all Europe he became acquainted with Wagner, Liszt, Bülow and Strauss, who wrote for him the Sonata in F. Dvořák composed some works for him, among them the Cello Concerto, although the first performance of this work was in fact given by Leo Stern....

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.