Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 08 April 2020

Wind quintetlocked

  • Wolfgang Suppan


A composition for five wind instruments. Although there are many exceptions the usual combination, which became established around 1800, is flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon and horn. This grouping evolved from the imperial Harmoniemusik as used at the Vienna court of Joseph II from 1782 (two oboes, two clarinets, two horns and two bassoons). The new quintet combination with its solo voices took advantage of the technical improvements being made to wind instruments during this period, and allowed some of the principles of Haydn's writing for string quartet to be transferred to chamber music for wind instruments. Antonio Rosetti (c1750–1792), Nikolaus Schmitt and G.M. Cambini (1764–1825) were among the first to compose for the new combination, but the wind quintet became a firmly established musical genre only with Antoine Reicha's 24 quintets written from 1811 (six each in opp.88, 91, 99, 100) and Franz Danzi's nine quintets written in ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.