Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 22 October 2019

Zucchini [Zucchino, Zuchino], Gregoriolocked

  • Wolfgang Witzenmann


(b Brescia, ?c1540 or ?c1560; d after 1615). Italian composer. He was a Benedictine monk; the dedication of his Promptuarium harmonicum (1616) establishes that he took holy orders in the monastery of S Giorgio Maggiore at Venice at the earliest possible age, probably when he was about 15. He may have been the ‘D.nus Gregorius de Brixia’ who professed on 29 June 1556, but it is possible, though less likely, that instead a similar entry (with the name ‘Georgius’) in the monastery’s records for 15 August 1575 refers to him. In 1600 he sought the permission of Pope Clement VIII to spend some time in the Roman monastery of S Paolo fuori le Mura, where he composed the masses and motets of his Harmonia sacra. He seems also to have stayed for a while at Praglia Abbey, near Padua.

Zucchini’s surviving music is exclusively sacred, and much of it is in the traditional style of functional church music for four to seven voices. His first publication, however, contains rich polychoral works for three and four choirs which indicate that he was one of the most important composers who emulated Giovanni Gabrieli. The four-choir mass, the 16-voice ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.

Leipzig, Leipziger Städtische Bibliotheken, Musikbibliothek
Pelplin, Wyzsze Seminarium Duchowne, Biblioteka
Wrocław, Uniwersytet Wrocławski, Biblioteka Uniwersytecka
Musica disciplina
C. Schmidl: Dizionario universale dei musicisti
J.G. Walther: Musicalisches Lexicon, oder Musicalische Bibliothec
R. Eitner: Biographisch-bibliographisches Quellen-Lexikon
Munich, Bayerische Staatsbibliothek
R. Eitner: Bibliographie der Musik-Sammelwerke des XVI. und XVII. Jahrhunderts (Berlin, 1877/R)
Regensburg, Fürst Thurn und Taxis Hofbibliothek
Augsburg, Staats- und Stadtbibliothek