Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 20 August 2019

Lockwood, Annea [Anna] (Ferguson)locked

  • J. Michele Edwards


[Anna] (Ferguson)

(b Christchurch, New Zealand, July 29, 1939). New Zealand composer. After attending Canterbury University, New Zealand (BMus 1961), she studied with Peter Racine Fricker at the RCM, London (1961–3); she also attended Darmstadt summer courses (1961–2) and worked with Koenig at the Staatliche Hochschule für Musik, Cologne, and at the Bilthoven electronic music studio (1963–4). In 1973 she went to the USA and taught at Hunter College, CUNY, and in 1982 joined the faculty at Vassar College, retiring in 2001.

While working in many genres, Lockwood consistently focusses on timbre and performance with spatial considerations. Her early works, including the Violin Concerto (1962), the chamber cantata A Abélard, Héloise (1963) and Aspekte einer Parabel (1964), are atonal. In the mid-1960s she moved away from both instrumental music and synthesized electronic materials to work with acoustic sounds from nature, attracted by their subtle complexity, rich variety and unpredictability. Her imaginative ...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.