Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 18 October 2019

Zohrabian, Ashot Patvakanilocked

  • Svetlana Sarkisyan


(b Yerevan, Jan 29, 1945). Armenian composer. He studied composition at the Melikian Music College with Bagdasarian (1963–7) and then at the Yerevan Conservatory with Eghiazarian (1967–72). In 1972 he began to teach harmony at the Babadjanian Music College and in 1981 orchestration and composition at the Yerevan Conservatory. He became a member of the Armenian Composers' Union in 1973, and of the Association of Contemporary Music in 1990. In 1993 he was awarded the Khachaturian Prize for Parable for chamber orchestra. Zohrabian is one of the leading figures in late 20th-century new Armenian music, and his works have been regularly performed in Moscow, St Petersburg, Kiev, Minsk, the Baltic States and Transcaucasus as well as in festivals in Bratislava, Venice, Cologne (all 1987), Glasgow, London, Paris (all 1989), Seoul (1990), Zagreb, Duisburg (1991) and Zürich (1992...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.