Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 24 October 2019

Artis Quartetlocked

  • Richard Wigmore


Austrian string quartet. It was founded in 1980 by Peter Schuhmayer and Manfred Honeck, violins, Herbert Kefer, viola, and Othmar Müller, cello, all of whom studied at the Vienna Musikhochschule with Hatto Beyerle and Alfred Staar. Johannes Meissl replaced Honeck in 1982. In 1984–5 the group studied with the La Salle Quartet in Cincinnati, after which they quickly established an international reputation with débuts in Paris (1985), Berlin (1987), Tokyo (1987), London (Wigmore Hall, 1988), New York (1988) and Amsterdam (1989). The Artis has also appeared at major international festivals, and since 1988 has given an annual concert series in the Vienna Musikverein. The quartet has given the premières of several works, including Eder's Quartet no.4 (1991) and von Einem's Quartet no.5 (1992), and is the dedicatee of Richard Dünser's Quartet no.2 and Thomas Pernes's Quartet no.4. The intensity and imagination of the Artis's playing, founded on a warm, characteristically Viennese sonority, can be heard on numerous recordings, ranging from Mozart, Schubert and a complete Mendelssohn cycle to the quartets of Magnard and Zemlinsky. Schuhmayer plays a Domenico Montagnana violin dated ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.