Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 06 June 2020


  • Jeremy Drake


French firm of music publishers. It was founded in 1943 in Grenoble by Hervé Dugardin (1910–69). At first Dugardin published works of composers whom he knew (Arrieu, Pierre Auclert, Barraud, Daniel-Lesur, Mihalovici, Sauguet and Wissmer). In 1946 the firm was transferred to Paris, and a shop was opened in the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées. In the early 1950s Dugardin published some highly significant contemporary works including Boulez's First Piano Sonata (1951) and his Sonatine for flute and piano (1954), as well as Dutilleux's First Symphony (1954). In the 1960s Amphion published works by Ohana and Marius Constant. After Dugardin's death, Isabelle Berthou, the current director, took over, and in the course of the 1960s and 70s added several notable younger composers to the catalogue including Aperghis, André Bon, Antoine Bonnet, Fenelon, Thierry Lancino, Mâche, Manoury and Risset, alongside Amy, Eloy and Tona Scherchen-Hsiao. In ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.