Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 24 August 2019

Souza, Rodolfo Coelho delocked

  • Gerard Béhague


(b São Paulo, Aug 8, 1952). Brazilian composer. He studied composition with Olivier Toni at the University of São Paulo (1968–70) and with Santoro (1978–9), and electro-acoustic music with Conrado Silva (1976–7). He earned his master's degree in 1994 from the University of São Paulo and in 1996 started working towards a doctoral degree in composition (electro-acoustic and computer music) at the University of Texas at Austin (1996–8).

Coelho de Souza received several prizes and grants, for example, the National Sarney Prize (1988) for his Galáxias, the Vitae Foundation grant (1990) for the composition Tristes trópicos, and a United States information service grant (1988) to visit 12 computer music centres in American universities. In 1989 he was music curator for the 20th São Paulo Arts Biennial and, from 1984 to 1993, co-director of the Santos and São Paulo New Music Festival. In ...

Access to the complete content on Grove Music Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.